Switzerland full name the Swiss Confederation (Confoederatio Helvetica in Latin, is a federal republic made up of 26 autonomous cantons, the federal capital Berne. The country is in Western Europe, where borders Germany to the north, France to the west, Italy to the south and Austria and Liechtenstein to the east. Switzerland is one of the most developed countries in the world. detailii regiuni excursii