The Federal Republic of Germany in German (Bundesrepublik Deutschland) is a country situated in Central Europe. Germany is part of organizations such as: The Council of Europe (1951), OECD, Western European Union (1954) NATO (1955) UN (1973), OSCE and the euro area. North part of Germany is bordering the North Sea, the Baltic Sea. To the east Poland and Czech Republic. To the south Austria and Switzerland and to the west: France, Belgium, Luxembourg and Netherlands. Germany covers 357,021 square kilometers (137,847) miles. Germany has the largest population within the European Union (82 million people). detailii regiuni excursii