Turkey (officially the Republic of Turkey) is a large country located on two continents. 97% of the country surface is in Asia (Anatolia) and 3% Europe (Balkan Peninsula) Turkey is bordered by eight countries: Greece and Bulgaria to the northwest: Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan to the northeast. Iran east and Iraq and Syria to the south. Turkey is a democratic republic whose political system was established in 1923. Turkey is also a member of the UN, NATO, OSCE, OECD, OIC Council of Europe. In October 2005, Turkey (Ankara) opened membership talks with the European Union. detailii regiuni excursii